Brooklyn Poets Reading Series

Named one of the best reading series in NYC as well as one of the 50 best free things to do in the city by Time Out New York, the Brooklyn Poets Reading Series takes place bimonthly at select venues in Brooklyn, with a summer stop on Governor’s Island. Readings are free and open to the public.
Each reading features three poets, with at least one from Brooklyn. We take pride in featuring emerging poets alongside more established poets, focusing on poets from underrepresented communities. Readings are curated by Jason Koo. For inquiries, contact us.


Sunday, September 16, 2018

Marwa Helal, Javier Zamora, Daniel Tobin

Brooklyn Book Festival, Brooklyn Historical Society, Brooklyn Heights

Marwa Helal

Marwa Helal is a poet and journalist. She is the author of Invasive species (Nightboat Books, forthcoming 2019) and I Am Made to Leave I Am Made to Return (No, Dear/Small Anchor Press, 2017). Her work has appeared in Apogee, Hyperallergic and Poets & Writers, among other journals, and in the anthologies Bettering American Poetry 2016 and Best American Experimental Writing 2018. She is the winner of BOMB Magazine’s Biennial 2016 Poetry Contest and has been awarded fellowships from Poets House, Brooklyn Poets and Cave Canem. Helal received her MFA in creative nonfiction from the New School and her BA in journalism and international studies from Ohio Wesleyan University. Born in Al Mansurah, Egypt, she currently lives and teaches in Brooklyn.

Javier Zamora

Javier Zamora was born in La Herradura, El Salvador, in 1990. He is the author of Unaccompanied (Copper Canyon, 2017). He holds a BA from the University of California–Berkeley, where he studied and taught in June Jordan’s Poetry for the People program, and earned an MFA from New York University. He is currently a 2016–2018 Wallace Stegner Fellow at Stanford University and is the recipient of scholarships to the Bread Loaf, Frost Place, Napa Valley, Squaw Valley and VONA writers’ conferences, as well as fellowships from CantoMundo, Colgate University (Olive B. O’Connor), MacDowell Colony, Macondo Foundation, National Endowment for the Arts, Saltonstall Foundation and Yaddo. In 2016, Barnes & Noble granted him the Writer for Writers Award for his work with the Undocupoets Campaign. He was also the winner of a Ruth Lilly and Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Fellowship and is a member of the Our Parents’ Bones Campaign, whose goal is to bring justice to the families of the ten thousand disappeared during El Salvador’s civil war.

Daniel Tobin

Daniel Tobin is the author of eight books of poems, including his newest collection Blood Labors (Four Way Books, 2018) and the book-length poem From Nothing, winner of the 2016 Julia Ward Howe Award. He is also the author of The Stone in the Air, his versions from Paul Celan, and several critical studies and edited volumes. His poems have appeared nationally and internationally in journals such as Poetry, the Paris Review, the Times Literary Supplement, Image and the New Republic, among others. A recipient of awards including the Massachusetts Book Award in Poetry and creative writing fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the John Simon Guggenheim Foundation, Tobin teaches in the Department of Writing, Literature and Publishing at Emerson College in Boston.