Brooklyn Poets Awards Gala

Brooklyn Poets Awards Gala

Join us for the second annual Brooklyn Poets Awards Gala—and first in person!—on Sunday, December 12, 5–8 PM (ET) at a private club in Park Slope. Enjoy drinks, small plates, and desserts, plus poetry readings by 2020 Yawp Poem of the Year Winner Dante Clark, 2021 Robin Romeo Award Winner Angela Lockhart-Aronoff and Distinguished Guest Edward Hirsch.

All donations will support the opening of Brooklyn Poets’ first brick-and-mortar space in Brooklyn Heights in 2022! Funds will also contribute to the fellowship awards Brooklyn Poets offers students next year. More gala details (including location of the private club) will be emailed upon receipt of your donation. Note: All gala attendees must show proof of full Covid-19 vaccination to enter. Donations to attend the gala must be received by December 10.

Yawp Poem of the Year Contest

Brooklyn Poets Yawp
Poem of the Year Contest

Join us the night after the gala for our virtual Yawp Poem of the Year Contest on Monday, December 13, at 7 PM (ET) via Zoom, featuring readings by the twelve winners of Yawp Poem of the Month over the past year contending for our 2021 Yawp Poem of the Year Award—decided by audience vote! All gala attendees will receive complimentary admission to the virtual Poem of the Year contest. Finalists include Arthur Russell, Preeti Shah, Josephine Blair, Morgan Boyle, Cassidy Gabriel, Surendriya Rao, Aishvarya Arora, Jae Eason, Tawanda Mulalu, Yana Kane, Todd Friedman and Madeline Phillips. Ticket sales end December 13 at 7 PM (ET).

Donation Levels

Select a donation level below and continue to our checkout page. If you wish to donate an alternate amount, or donate by check, charitable account or some other means, please contact Executive Director Jason Koo at All donations $100 and up include one Brooklyn Poets Voyager membership good for one year ($75 value). Brooklyn Poets is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization recognized under the Internal Revenue Code, so all donations are tax-deductible.